Double-edged sword

computer-guy-meme

I’m thankful that my blog is so minuscule that people aren’t constantly barraging me with comments and questions about when are we going to see the next chapter of Watchers, or where’s Season 2 of Squadron 1337.

The simplest way to describe my current work situation is as a double-edged sword. I’ve been oddly quiet for the past two months, and have fallen off my consistent posting schedule, which upsets me. However, it seems nobody has taken notice of the change, which is also a good thing.

For the constant readers of my content who are still lurking in darkness as I am and wish to know more about why I’ve gone quiet…I’m going to spill a few details (not EVERYTHING), but I’ll let you fill in the gaps along the way.

Rough summer

Back in April, I had a major shift in my employment status. Needless to say, I had to pick up extra hours at my second job to account for the loss of hours I had been dealt. I didn’t lose my job, in fact I’m still working two jobs as I always have, but the change was enough to make me re-evaluate my priorities.

My now fiancé (I will come back to that) and I had just moved into a new place with another roommate, and this shift came not even three weeks after our move.

We were in a rough patch, and in a lot of ways, we are still navigating the troubled waters. But with September just around the corner, I’m feeling optimistic for a number of reasons.

For starters, we’re getting a new roommate, which will really help with our finances. My fiancé, who works full-time for the school board during the fall and winter months, will be headed back to work in September.

So we’ll see where things go from there, but my full attention has shifted to maintaining the home, paying the bills, working hard and just pushing our way through another rough summer.

The engaged life

On a positive note, I got engaged to my now fiancé. It was the happiest day of my life, and we’re currently planning our wedding, which we’re hoping to have next year. Despite all our financial roadblocks, I don’t want to look at a wedding as another financial burden because it’s meant to be a happy occasion.

Taking a step back, ever since I moved out I’ve taken my financial health very seriously…almost obsessively.

I like to think I’m frugal, but in reality I can be downright cheap.

And my fiancé and I are like any other young couple trying to make it on their own: we’ve got bills to pay, we’ve got debts we’ve incurred while trying to survive, and we’re fighting to make it on our own in a tough housing market.

We’ve had tremendous support from family and friends, but in the end, we realized that we need to work together as a couple to figure it out for ourselves.

I’m sorry, I’ve taken to rambling on about our financial situation, but if you are a constant reader of my work, you need to understand how these hurdles affect me on a personal level.

Life hinders art

Like many young people coming out of college, my top priority became finding my first job. It took about six months before I secured my first job post-college that was in my field.

At this stage of my life, it’s tough (but not impossible) to pay the rent and bills on one entry-level income, so borrowing from my fiancé’s work ethic (she works three jobs), I’ve taken to working the two jobs. I’ve been working two jobs for the past three years.

With everything that has been going on recently, my priorities have shifted. This goes back to my double-edged sword comment: I’m happy that I’ve taken to focusing my attention on getting through the summer because it means less distractions, however it means sacrificing some of the things I hold near and dear to my heart. Spending time with friends is one of them, but writing has also taken a backseat. These are two things that I routinely struggle with integrating into my busy work life.

I still maintain an active social life where I can, but I can’t make time for everybody. Worst of all, I’ve lacked the inspiration to tackle personal projects, such as this blog.

My hope for The Outbreak Podcast was to let some of that light in, but it’s hard to maintain a regular upload schedule with my chaotic work-life balance.

However, I’m hoping that come September, I may be able to figure this whole thing out once and for all.

What’s next

While I have not written anything for Watchers, I do intend to return to this project.

I am however working on a new short story that will be debuting July 31, in the Monday slot Squadron 1337 once held.

The story is titled “March of the Plants”, and it is a modern re-telling of a story I wrote back in high school. I will provide more details once the story is released over on the “Stories” tab of my blog.

Once again to the readers out there who have stuck around, thank you so much for your patience. This weekly writing schedule was a New Year’s Resolution of mine that I’m looking forward to re-integrating into my life.

One thought on “Double-edged sword

Leave a Reply

