What should I do for 2017?

I spent a little time reflecting on my New Year’s resolutions from the start of this year. If you’d like to see what those were, click here.

And while I feel I have accomplished some goals during 2016, including getting back to the gym and spending more time with loved ones, I failed to meet some bigger goals that I would like to push for again in 2017.

For example, I never did finish my e-book…or AN e-book for that matter. The hardest part about writing an e-book and self-publishing isn’t coming up with the idea, it’s coming up with the time and the energy to sit down and devote at least an hour a day to the craft of writing.

At my new job, I do enough writing and proofreading throughout the day that I tend to be drained and lacking the motivation to do more when I get home. And most times, the big, swinging pendulum of life just keeps ticking away as my priorities shift between caring for my two kittens, preparing daily meals and work lunches, dishes, laundry, and much more.

Not to mention I’ve neglected another big resolution from 2016: focusing on re-structuring the podcast. Not only did we record 1 podcast episode over the course of 2016, I officially took a hiatus from Stardust Drive to reflect on what I really wanted to do. Do I want to write? Do I want to return to working on a solo channel (a.k.a. will173, or something new entirely)? Do I want to return to JUST podcasting?

While I still haven’t a clue as to what I want to do with Stardust Drive, I have a few ideas as to what I want to do in the new year, so I’m going to write this as a “New Year’s Resolutions 2017” piece.

  1. Start writing. I think before I even talk about writing an e-book, I need to put aside time to just write in general. I’ve been researching National Novel Writing Month as an inspiration to get me moving. While this is strictly a November event, I think that the rules could still apply to my own practice. NaNoWiMo is an event in which you have to write 50,000 words to a novel in 30 days. You have to write at least 1,667 words a day. That doesn’t sound like a heck of a lot, but you have to remember if you’re a writer, there’s a lot of roadblocks in your path. Biggest one: YOURSELF. Second biggest one: TIME. Third biggest one: CREATIVITY, or lack thereof. Also, it’s important to not criticize your own work until you’ve reached your end goal, then you can meticulously cut and refresh the content you’ve prepared. I personally believe it’s better to go into the process with an idea, at the bare minimum, and I have a few of those kicking around in the old brain bucket.
  2. Spend time with loved ones. This one is always a given. I’ve watched a number of TED Talk videos and read plenty an article on the subject of happiness, and 9 times out of 10, money doesn’t drive the truck of happiness. Loneliness is a huge driver to your life span, surprisingly. Healthy eating and fitness is good for the body, but you could be the healthiest, leaniest machine on the block, but if you find yourself alone, and it makes you sad, it can weigh a lot more on your health in the long run. And I personally believe that every minute spent with someone you love should be cherished and enjoyed. Ever since I moved out, I’ve had my lonely days. I do miss seeing the Kee family and most of my Mississauga friends day in and day out, and that’s what makes get-togethers so much more important to me than ever before.
  3. Continue battling the money beast. I thought life would be smooth sailing once I left college. I figured I wouldn’t have to stress about assignments, final exams, projects; oh, what a fool I was. While the stress of school may be in the rear-view mirror, the stress of adulthood casts a longer shadow over the rest of our lives. And the biggest stresser of all: M-O-N-E-Y.The stress of having little money to work with from week to week never stops nibbling at my cranium. I would like to get my financial situation under control in 2017, and hopefully worry less about bills and more about saving for the future. I won’t be buying a house anytime soon, but when I finally decide to settle down and start a family, I’d rather not be doing that in a one-bedroom apartment.
  4. What to do with YouTube? This is another question that plagues my mind. On one hand, I would be perfectly okay with returning to podcasting with the guys, but on the other, do I still continue producing videos as well? Is there a way to balance podcasting, video producing and writing with my day-to-day schedule? I don’t have a lot of free time to allot to any one particular thing, but of those three, I would rather work on my writing, and podcast later. They say (whoever they are) that the cards will fall wherever they may, and whether I decide to return to YouTube or just podcasting in January, or later on in the year…or just NEVER…it all depends on the cards I’m dealt.

So this seems like a pretty standard list. Nothing too outstanding, nothing really new, but it’s goals that I have to put forth and stick by, otherwise I will look back and feel as though I’ve wasted my time.

Any thoughts? Feel free to leave a comment, and send me your New Year’s resolutions! I’d love to hear what you want to accomplish next year.

Leave a Reply

